Pink “Dear Mr. President”

Our third song of the day is Pink’s “Dear Mr. President”. Many people are not familiar with this song but people who follow AOL sessions know it quite well, it was a huge hit when Pink first performed it acoustic with Indigo Girls. Written by Billy Mann and Pink, it is considered an open letter to Ex President George W. Bush.

Pink in her usual sugarcoat the sour strategy directed these words to the media

“I hope the President is proud of the fact that we live in a country where we can do things like that, where we can have dissent, talk, communicate, and share our opinions”. Adding to that she said, “I also think it is pretty narcissistic to think that one of my songs will be heard by the President of the United States” she laughed, “But, hey that would be really cool”. 

Pink song was a bold statement coming from a mainstream pop artist that maybe is not so mainstream after all tackling so many social; issues, misconceptions, and constructs.

Then coming from the source itself she once said,

“That is how I live my life. I am a walking conflict. I guess I turned 25 and sort of woke up. Before, I think, I thought I knew everything and now I realize I have so much left to learn. I just love being here. I love pushing buttons. I love the process of growing up. When you are a teenager, there are moments that you want to die for. But you get past that, and then every moment is like, ‘I want to live! I have so much to do! I am not dead! I am here’”.

Here are the lyrics to Pink’s song:

Dear Mr. President,
Come take a walk with me.
Let us pretend we are just two people and
you are not better than me.
I would like to ask you some questions if we can speak honestly.

What do you feel when you see all the homeless on the street?
Who do you pray for at night before you go to sleep?
What do you feel when you look in the mirror?
Are you proud?

How do you sleep while the rest of us cry?
How do you dream when a mother has no chance to say goodbye?
How do you walk with your head held high?
Can you even look me in the eye
and tell me why?

Dear Mr. President,
Were you a lonely boy?
Are you a lonely boy?
Are you a lonely boy?
How can you say
No child is left behind?
We are not dumb and we are not blind.
They are all sitting in your cells
while you pave the road to hell.

What kind of father would take his own daughter’s rights away?
And what kind of father might hate his own daughter if she were gay?
I can only imagine what the first lady has to say
you have come a long way from whiskey and cocaine.

How do you sleep while the rest of us cry?
How do you dream when a mother has no chance to say goodbye?
How do you walk with your head held high?
Can you even look me in the eye?

Let me tell you about hard work,
Minimum wage with a baby on the way.
Let me tell you about hard work,
Rebuilding your house after the bombs took them away.
Let me tell you about hard work,
Building a bed out of a cardboard box.
Let me tell you about hard work,
Hard work
Hard work
you don’t know nothing about hard work,
Hard work
Hard work
Oh

How do you sleep at night?
How do you walk with your head held high?
Dear Mr. President,
You would never take a walk with me.
Would you?

Right on the Spot!


2 thoughts on “Pink “Dear Mr. President”

Leave a Reply

